top of page

Svadhishthana - Sacral Chakra


Element: Water

Color: Orange

Sensation: Feeling and Taste

Location: 4 fingers under navel between belly button and genitals

Organs: Reproductive Organs, uterus, womb, testes

Mantra: Vam

Svadhishthana is the 2nd energy center along the spine, and in Sanskrit translates to "dwelling place of self".

The sacral chakra is located two inches below the navel and is most closely connected with sex, emotion, and creativity. With the element water, Svadhisthana invites us to explore flow and fluidity.

We experience emotion through our body, we feel through our body. Our bodies respond and communicate our pleasure, joy, and emotion. All of this is processed through our Sacral Chakra.

Many things can cause our Sacral Chakra to become unbalanced. Repressed sexual emotion, lacking of creative outlets or expression, sexual trauma and drug/substance abuse can all have a great impact on the energy center of Svadhishthana.

When our Sacral Chakra is out of balance we experience things like:

  • Guilt and shame

  • Sexual disfunction

  • Greed

  • Chronic lower back pain

  • Hold unprocessed anger/pain

  • Resentment

When in balance we experience:

  • Creativity

  • Connected to pleasure

  • Healthy relationships

  • Sexual expression

  • Generosity

How to balance your Sacral Chakra:

There are a number of ways that you can work to bring balance to Svadhishthana. You can participate in a variety of therapies: psychological, somatic, or sound.

Healing Stones: Carnelian, amber, moonstone, sunstone, orange tourmaline

Essential oils: lemon, patchouli, rosewood, sandalwood, ylang ylang

You can meditate.

You can use affirmations:

  • I flow with life

  • I embrace pleasure

  • I accept my body

  • I am open

The best way to find balance and grounding with Sacral is through movement and action.

Some of the best Yoga poses for activating Svadhishthana:

  • Childspose

  • Cobra

  • Happy baby

  • Warriors

  • Downward facing dog

Other action-oriented ways of grounding and bringing balance to Muladhara:

  • Connect to water

  • Breathwork

  • Dance or another fluid body movement

  • Journaling

  • Creative expression (writing, painting, drawing, singing)


Our bodies are made up of 7 powerful energy centers called Chakras. The chakra system starts at the base of our spine and moves up toward the crown of our head. In Sanskrit, chakra means ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’. The spiraling vortex of energy in each chakra center corresponds to different organs, functions of the body, or emotions. When our chakras are ‘open’ the energy can move freely but if an energy system is disrupted, it becomes ‘blocked’ and we suffer disease. The energy of your chakras influences your mindset, behavior, and wellbeing. You can help bring the energy of these powerful meridians into alignment through practical action.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page