top of page

Anahata - Opening the Heart


Element: Air

Color: Green

Sensation: Joy

Location: Center of Chest

Organs: Lungs, Heart and Thymus Gland

Mantra: Yam

Anahata is the 4th energy center along the spine, it is located directly in the center of the chest behind the sternum. Anahata means ‘unstruck’ in Sanskrit. The heart chakra is the middle chakra, acting as a bridge between the upper and lower chakras, binding the Earthly nature of the lower three to the Spiritual nature of the upper three. It is how we experience divinity through love.

Anahata governs our capacity to give and receive love, compassion, empathy, and forgiveness. Over time, we close up, we shield ourselves from being vulnerable as a natural defense against being hurt. We shield our hearts instinctually, but it actually can end up causing more harm. Opening our heart chakra is about transcendence. When you work to align and open this energy center be prepared for powerful emotional releases.

The corresponding Thymus gland is responsible for controlling and supporting our immunity system. It is part of the lymphatic and endocrine systems. When the heart chakra is blocked, we become susceptible to disease. The thymus produces T-cells which help fight against infected or cancerous cells.

With the element air, Anahata invites us to explore spaciousness, breath, and the infinite divine inside each one of us. It invokes freedom and expansion. We take air into our lungs through breath, fueling our life force.

When Anahata is out of balance we experience things like:

  • Jealousy

  • Possessiveness

  • Co-dependency

  • Inability to Trust

  • Fear of rejections

When in balance we experience:

  • Openness

  • Vulnerability

  • Compassion and empathy

  • Self-respect

  • Trust

If we are out of balance in this area, it can impact our life greatly on a number of different levels. If it is can close us off to opportunities of intimacy and value with our families, partners, and community. It can make us feel isolated and alone, fueling depression and despondence. In relationships, it can make us become co-dependent, jealous, and controlling.

Your heart chakra can also be TOO open. When this happens, you offer too much energy to others, depleting yourself. You say yes to everything, even when you don’t want to. You become too liberal with your physical affections, perhaps when it is not appropriate. You may tolerate too much from others without regard to your own self-care.

The goal is balance. When we find balance, we can inspire kindness, compassion, and joy in others. We can create a safe space for someone else to begin their healing through vulnerability and trust. This is the energy that connects us all through an intricate web of relationships (think 6 degrees of separation). When we are in balance, we are able to enforce healthy boundaries and say no when it serves us.

Anahata is the unity of all.

How to balance your Heart Chakra:

There are a number of ways that you can work to bring balance to Anahata. You can participate in a variety of therapies: psychological, somatic, or sound.

  • Healing stones: Quartz (pink or clear), jade, green calcite

  • Essential oils: Rose, geranium, neroli, jasmine, bergamot

You can meditate.

You can use affirmations:

  • I am open

  • I am vulnerable

  • I am worthy

  • I offer forgiveness to myself and others

  • I love and accept myself

Some of the best Yoga poses for activating Anahata:

  • Cobra

  • Wild Thing

  • Low crescent

  • Wheel

  • Bow

Other action-oriented ways of grounding and bringing balance to Muladhara:

  • Breathwork

  • Offer vulnerability in a conversation with someone you trust

  • Hug/Kiss/Embrace someone you are close to

  • Eat lots of greens

  • Smile at others

  • Release a grudge


Our bodies are made up of 7 powerful energy centers called Chakras. The chakra system starts at the base of our spine and moves up toward the crown of our head. In Sanskrit, chakra means ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’. The spiraling vortex of energy in each chakra center corresponds to different organs, functions of the body, or emotions. When our chakras are ‘open’ the energy can move freely but if an energy system is disrupted, it becomes ‘blocked’ and we suffer disease. The energy of your chakras influences your mindset, behavior, and wellbeing. You can help bring the energy of these powerful meridians into alignment through practical action.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page